QMEB » Students Receive Queensland Minerals and Energy Academy Ambassador Award
Latest News Training & Recruitment

Students Receive Queensland Minerals and Energy Academy Ambassador Award

Students Receive Queensland Minerals and Energy Academy Ambassador AwardSome of Queensland’s most talented students yesterday received a Queensland Minerals and Energy Academy (QMEA) Ambassador Award, designed to give them a head start into careers in the state’s resources sector.

The Member for Brisbane Central, Robert Cavallucci MP presented the students with their awards at a gala QMEA breakfast in Brisbane for students, schools and industry supporters .

The 20 Year 11 students from throughout Queensland will also take part in a three-day camp this week to equip them for their student ambassador roles when they return to their schools next year.

The QMEA is a partnership between the QRC, resources sector companies, the Queensland Government, and education and training providers.

‘Our programs provide students with the opportunity to learn more about pathways in to our sector through genuine engagement activities,’ said QMEA Acting Director Katrina-Lee Jones.

‘The Ambassador Camp helps the students to mentor their school mates and encourage them to consider resources sector subjects and careers.

‘During the camp they engage with the cutting edge of mining and resources innovation as they tour the CSIRO’s Queensland Centre for Advanced Technology (QCAT), the Hastings Deering Institute of Technology and SIMTARS, the Queensland Governments safety in mining research station, as well as experiencing a taste of life at the University of Queensland and the Queensland University of Technology.
The 2015 QMEA Ambassador Students are:

Aden Smith Biloela SHS
Michael McLure Biloela SHS
Shania Buckingham Blackwater SHS
Tayla Ludlow-Tobane Blackwater SHS
Duta Adyatma Emerald SHS
Parker Hayes Emerald SHS
Justen Lyons Kirwan SHS
Jayden Thompson Kirwan SHS
Marti vanMilt Kirwan SHS
Jemma Everett Kirwan SHS
Litanare Tonny Moranbah SHS
Craig Dunn Moranbah SHS
Alice Edgecombe Moura SHS
Samantha McCullough Moura SHS
Ema Nunn Nanango SHS
Jared Matthews Nanango SHS
Alison Wakefield Spinifex SC
Brock Staunton Spinifex SC
Kaitlyn Read Toolooa SHS

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment