QMEB » Finalists Announced For the Resources Awards For Women
Events & Awards Latest News

Finalists Announced For the Resources Awards For Women

Finalists Announced For the Resources Awards For Women

The finalists have been announced for the 10th annual Resources Awards for Women hosted by the Queensland Resources Council (QRC) and Women in Mining and Resources Queensland (WIMARQ).

Chief Executive of QRC, Michael Roche, said the awards were aimed at increasing women’s participation in the resources sector.

“The long-term sustainability of our sector relies on attracting and retaining sufficient skilled people and we need to continue to keep our eye on future needs, even when we are experiencing difficult times,” Mr Roche said.

“We need to continue to encourage people from sectors of our community who are under-represented in our ranks to consider resources sector careers, and women remain the obvious prime targets,”

“We have made good progress, with the proportion of women in non-traditional roles such as engineering, geology, trades, operators and senior management increasing from 6 percent in 2006 to 13.5 percent in 2013-14.”

The finalists are:

Exceptional Woman in Queensland Resources

Michelle Elvy BHP Billiton Mitsui Coal – Manager Production Processing South Walker Creek
Janette Hewson Peabody Energy Australia – Director, Services, Supply Chain Management
Jessica Simpson BHP Billiton – Senior Manager, Community, Group Corporate Affairs

Gender Diversity Champion in Queensland Resources

Rachel Durdin Rio Tinto – Principal Advisor Strategic Planning, Technology and Innovation
Jacqui McGill BHP Billiton Mitsui Coal (BMC – Asset President

Exceptional young woman in Queensland resources

Sandra Newman Rio Tinto Coal Australia – Project Lead West Dam – Hail Creek Mine
Michelle Radlof Rio Tinto Alcan Weipa – Civil & Environmental Engineer
Emma Riles BHP Billiton Cannington – Metallurgy improvement Specialist– Cannington

Outstanding Queensland Tradeswoman/operator/technician

Melissa Brown Glencore Coal Assets Australia – Clermont Open Cut Team Leader – Haulage
Anna Kepper Rio Tinto Alcan – Weipa Fitter and Turner
Julie Stainkey Rio Tinto Alcan – Weipa Crew Leader, East Weipa Mine Operations


The awards will be presented at the QRC/WIMARQ International Women’s Day Breakfast at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 6 March.

The awards will be shown via a live webcast to audiences at breakfasts being held in Blackwater, Mackay and Moranbah on the same day.

For more information or to book a table for the event visit the QRC website.



Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Gold/Silver Index