QMEB » Women in Construction celebrated at annual awards
Latest News

Women in Construction celebrated at annual awards

The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) Queensland chapter has announced nominations are open for the 20th annual 2015 Crystal Vision Awards.

The awards, to be held on September 4 in Brisbane, recognise the inspirational women who play a crucial role in what is a traditionally male-dominated industry.

NAWIC Queensland and Northern Territory Chapter President Marnie Beckett said the awards allow individuals and companies to shine a spotlight on the women in their industry and hopefully encourage more women to consider a career in construction.

“The Crystal Vision Awards provide the opportunity to celebrate the outstanding achievements and industry advancements of Queensland women and reward their enthusiasm, skills and commitment,” Ms Beckett said.

“Throughout the 20 years NAWIC has been in Australia, there have been major changes in the industry, with women’s enrolment in the sector growing year on year – providing a range of exciting opportunities for women.

“I encourage women to nominate themselves or a colleague and be recognised for their hard work.”

With the exception of the Crystal Vision Award and Diversity Award, only women working in the private or public spheres of construction, for small or large business, or self-employed, may be nominated for an award. Organisations or individuals (men or women) may be nominated for the Crystal Vision Award and Diversity Award.

Entries close Friday, June 12, 2015. For more information or to nominate, please visit www.nawic.com.au.

The 2015 Queensland Award Categories

· Laing O’Rourke Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry

· Construction Skills Queensland Award for Achievement in Construction (General Building)

· Civil Contractors Federation Award for Achievement in Construction (Civil Works)

· Aurecon Award for Achievement in Design

· Queensland Government Award for Achievement as a Business Woman (Small Business – 250 staff or less)

· NAWIC Award for Achievement as a Business Woman (Large Business – 251 staff or more)

· Bechtel Award for Achievement in Health & Safety and/or Environment

· Queensland University of Technology Award for Innovation

· Seymour Whyte Award to a Young Achiever

· NAWIC Award for Achievement in Marketing, Community Engagement and Communication Excellence

· Face to Face Training Award for Achievement in the Construction Industry by an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Woman

· Corrs Chambers Westgarth Award for Diversity


The awards aim to celebrate the champions of change, and the opportunities available in the construction industry for women, now and into the future.


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Gold/Silver Index